Every awaking moment makes up her life..She capsulates her thought like a scrapbook project.. she never allows any photographic imagery to escape... This is her DISCOVERY.. TRAVEL.. & LIVING..and U have the passport to her paradise.. Looking through her world.. Searching her pockets.. Reading her creativity... What color is her eyes today?

Tuesday, July 31, 2007

MYSTERY Car

While i was on my way to the 2nd interview today... We spotted THIS @ Parkway!!






I heard it from the radio in the last 2-3 weeks abt tis mystery car contest thingy...Some mystery cars will be wrapped up and drive all around the roads this 2 weeks. Basically its an advertising gimmick ... some car maker is launching a stylish sports car this August. We just need to be lucky enough to spot it.. Pretty hard to catch it since it will be driving all around.. but then think the vehicle is all wrapped in black with the website written on the side.. so its still possible to spot it..

We just need to take a pic of it...Guess the car-maker and the best photo will win $1000 cash..! Wah... seemed easy... but not so leh.. cos so many people would have taken the photo.. and only ONE winner... for a tiny prize of $1000.. harder than winning the lottery.... anyway, i did submit the photos and try my luck lah.. but i have a better idea... I've got the car plate number... so i'm gonna buy the 4D this weekend.. see i lucky or not... think chances of winning high...at least if i buy 2 BIG also can get $3K... hhaaaahhaa...


-- Toto Gal -- Jul 31.07

CATCH ME If you CAN?

I'm not sure Wednesday 1st August (Lunar calendar- 19.06) is an auspicious Date or wat... But the companies who wanted to meet me for an interview have all decided to meet the "Princess" on this day.. Wat a long day i have to go thru.. 3 interviews in one day.. Funny thing is that they are of different industries that i used to work.. apparently they are quite open abt hiring someone not in the industry??


Mmmm... perhaps they needed NEW Blood...??


Here's my schedule... CATCH ME if you Can..

Location 1 >> Paya Lebar Area...
Time : 10.30am
For Position: Business Manager (Online Shopping and Money Lending)
Company Business: Online Retail...Counter services and Financial Services

Location 2 >> Shenton Way...
Time: 2.00pm
For Position: Product Manager- Legalised Loan Shark
Company Business: Financial products (Money Lending, Insurance & Investment)

Location 3 >> Sunshine Plaza...
Time: 4.00pm
For Position: Brand Manager- A man's poison
Company Business: Beverage products (Sophicicated Dunkard's Fav)

Actually another company (IT Software) wanted to squeeze a Tele-interview on this day as well.. It's the 2nd interview anyway.. but i told them i was too tighted up.. so we pushed to Thu.. otherwise i will really "bing-sun"....

Now very stressed out.. need to do some research and reading.... especially they are all very extremely industry change.. worst than i study for exams...sigh.. why did i apply their jobs in the 1st place...?



-- Hectic Gal -- Jul 31.07

My PEACE, My Tranquility...





She's my goddess.. my sweet rhapsody..

I love her SONGS.. Very Soulful..

it brings me away from stressful life and gives me inner peace..

CORINNE BAILEY RAE
~~ Like A Star ~~


Just like a star across my sky,
Just like an angel off the page,
You have appeared to my life,
Feel like I'll never be the same,
Just like a song in my heart,
Just like oil on my hands,
Oh.. I do love you,

Still i wonder why it is,
I don't argue like this,
With anyone but you,
We do it all the time,
Blowing out my mind,

You've got this look i can't describe,
You make me feel like I'm alive,
When everything else is a fade,
Without a doubt you're on my side,
Heaven has been away too long,
Can't find the words to write this song,
Oh.,..
Your love,

Still i wonder why it is,
I don't argue like this,
With anyone but you,
We do it all the time,
Blowing out my mind,

I have come to understand,
The way it is,
It's not a secret anymore,
'cause we've been through that before,
From tonight I know that you're the only one,
I've been confused and in the dark,
Now I understand,

I wonder why it is,
I don't argue like this,
With anyone but you,
I wonder why it is,
I wont let my guard down,
For anyone but you
We do it all the time,
Blowing out my mind,

Just like a star across my sky,
Just like an angel off the page,
You have appeared to my life,
Feel like I'll never be the same,
Just like a song in my heart,
Just like oil on my hands

** mmm... perhaps should upload her song.... **
-- Peace gal -- Jul 30.07


Sunday, July 29, 2007

DONUTS.. Wat a Nut-case...


Is it gonna be another one of those 5 minute fever fab till the bubble burst or wat? 1st was bubble tea, then pork floss bread, Beard Papa and now the latest food craze >>> DONUTS..










i remembered i used to stand outside the confectionary shop @ Clementi after class.. watching the auntie with the red-dyed hair frying the donuts buns and the twisted dough.. Once she asked me why don't i get one myself, i told her that i used up my pocket money for the day in school.. so she offered me a plain dough, all sugar-coated.. one that is pretty odd shaped looking... which i tot she offered me out of pitiness.. she must have tot that it's harder to sell it off cos it wasn't presentable enuf for the shelf to be platable to the customer...

My ex-bf would never forget to satisfy his donut fix whenever we catch a movie @ Tampines Mall every Sunday afternoon.. he loved the fluffy feeling in every bite.. somewhat cottony and yet bouncy... You should see how goofy he looked when his face gets smeared with the icing sugar, licking his oily fingers and he will give u that silly smirk... He makes DONUT look so heavenly delicious that U will think having one is never enuf..

In the recent months, donuts craze is evidently breathtaking.. U cannot be oblivious enough to ignore it..So... wat so great abt this high in carbo, greassy tasting dough that drives everyone going ga ga...?




DONUTS.. according to Wikipedia.. it is a sweet deep-fried thingy made from dough. A couple of common shapes...The Torus-shaped ring and the filled doughnut, a flattened sphere injected with jam, custard or cream or another sweet filling....


The HISTORY...
I think it's been around for centuries...This simple staple food, can be eaten anytime of the day, has many debatable history of it.. Pretty interesting and complicated.. Even the story about the how the hole was invented is full of conflicting evidence...


These deep-fried cakes comes with a long European history and roots in still earlier Middle Eastern cuisine. Guess it arises with the question of the leftover scraps of dough when people made bread. In England, they dropped the bits into soup or water, and made dumplings. But in Holland and Germany, the cooks decided to fry the dough in hot oil...they decorated their leftovers a bit more by shaping them into decorative knots (dough knots), and rolling in sugar afterwards.

Then doughnuts were known as olykoeks, or oily cakes, and it's primarily the Dutch who are credited with taking sweet dough balls and frying them in pork fat.They were introduced to America much later as oily fried buns...Eaten during the Dutch Christmas season...and for special occasions throughout the year.

Some pointed out that the olykoeken tend not to cook through in the very middle, so some makers would put nuts in the center (“dough-nuts”) to make them more palatable...Later in the New World, the Dutch replaced their frying oil with the preferred lard (far more available here), as it produced a tender and greaseless crust...

>> Oh my godness Glorious Me... Eureka..!! I was just wondering how the name came abt.. when there is NO NUT in it...???!!


The HOLE
It's funny how dougnut never started with that distintive and characteristic hole... I have eaten dougnuts that are filled with a blob of jam and cream... So What made Donut so distinctive was the hole in the middle that identifies it. How did the shape change from the original diamond?

The uncooked centers seem to have been, directly or indirectly, the reason behind the hole. Some claimed that its the invention of a New England sea captain named Hanson Gregory, around 1847. Gregory’s mother Elizabeth made olykoeken and sent them with her son on his journeys to sea. Now.. Answer this trival question of the story how the hole was made:

Was it because:
A) He simply didn’t like the uncooked centers (or the nuts his mother filled them with) and poked them out;

B) Because he may have encountered a cake with a hole in the middle during his journeys and decided to adapt the idea to the olykoeken.

C) Gregory needed a place to put his olykoek while he steered the boat, so he impaled it on one of the spokes of the steering wheel.


The Answer is....All of the above actually....

(C) is the most popular version of the story.. but no one really knows...Whatever Gregory’s real reason for adding the hole, it had the beneficial effect of making the doughnuts cook more evenly, and the idea quickly caught on.

Nearly thirty years later, in 1872, John Blondell received the first patent for a doughnut cutter. Doughnut technology advanced significantly over the next few decades. By the 1930s, automated doughnut-making machines were producing the treats in huge quantities. And in the 1940s and 1950s, chains like Krispy Kreme and Dunkin’ Donuts sprang up, taking mass-produced doughnuts to the masses.


The RECIPE:


The usual mixture for an American doughnut is a combination of four, eggs, and milk, raised by baking powder or by bicarbonate of soda activated by sour milk.

Different ethnic groups brought their own doughnut variations. Ultimately, even the English American cooks adopted them as well. It has gone thru upgrading as well.. like the Chemical leavening (notably baking powder) was substituted for yeast, producing a more cakelike and less breadlike product. In the same era inexpensive tin doughnut cutters with holes were manufactured commercially and sold widely.




WHERE CAN U GET IT?
While we may not be able to cart home boxes of Krispy Kremes from Australia or Dunkin' Donut from the United States. You can now get good tasting donuts @ The Donut Factory, which has a store opened at Raffles City. Opened by businessman Gunter Rahim, a half-German and half-Pakistani, He muz be nuts abt the DONUTs...



Buying his donuts is quite the sensory yet tormenting.... U can just get really "orgasmic" by standing infront of his shop...... your heart is pumping rapidly, following the beat with every almost-perfect dough churned out by his high tech machine...your lips gets dry up, your hunger builds up... With the instant rush... you torture yourself further by joining the snaking queues in front of his speciality donut shop, togther with the others... hungry waiting wacky students, housewives with babies in pram, office executives in power suits, old uncles and aunties..

Well well.. i'm not in such a crazy mood to join the queue for a box of 12 glazed donuts which cost abt $10-$11 and sampled all 15 flavours... Thats why i have never tasted it before... so i can't comment if they made really good DONUTS.. i believe they muz have been.. otherwise the crowd will not be returning day after day and the queues are longer than the queue for the newly launched condos in town or even comparable to the queue for the sale of the latest Harry Potter book series... Soon.. it could be as long as the queue to join the Singapore Idol audition... U just watch and see...


Just a quick check online... I discover there are quite a few donut speciality shops around..

1. Donut Factory - Donut Factory
{B1 Raffles City Shopping Centre & L1 Suntec City Tower 3, outside/near Carrefour there}


2. Dunkin Donuts - Dunkin Donuts Delivery to SG
{Deliver frm JB evry wed & sun, collect @ City hall mrt stn 75% & other 6 locations 25%}..
Can buy directly fresh frm JB @ Plaza Pelangi (app. 1km frm causeway), Plaza Kotaraya (1km oso), Aeon Tebra City Jusco (3-5km i tink). Cheap & many varieties.


3. Missy Donut - Missy Donut
{Bukit Panjang Plaza}


4. Summer House Donut (Frm Australia) - Summer House Donut
{L1 Burlington Square, Bencoolen Street, beside Burger King & L1 Ang Mo Kio Hub}
Cool.. they have their website going for e-orders...
http://www.summerhousedonut.com/


5. Baby Doughnut -
{Frm JB, City Square Lvl3, assorted designs & flavours.}


6. Pop Doh - Selling assorted donut @ Takashimaya B2 Food Central there @ a corner beside the Italian Gelato Ice-cream stall. I tink cheapest donut is the small choc wif nuts $0.55.


7. No Name (not sure d name of stall) - selling doughnuts mini-bite sized made by japanese baker, $4 for 12; if buy 3boxes/dozens is for $10 (i think so).
{@ Central, Clarke Quay Basement}.


8. Munchy Donuts - Munchy Donut@ Tanjong Katong... A cafe @ S'pore Expo near Hall 2 there.


9. Chewy Junior - @ Blk 1 Tanjong Pagar Plaza {a "wulu" place lolx}
looks & taste lik a cream puff +donut.


10. J Co Donut - @ Batam, Megamall (take a ferry ride to & fro frm Harbour Front @ $30
{Would u make a trip Jus go buy donuts?} But Things there are realli cheap n in rupiah


11. Krispy Kreme Donuts - in philipines, america, jarkata.....

12. Mister Donuts - Mister Donut CUte & nice designs.
{in Bangkok, lik famous MBK etc. Taiwan & japan oso }

-- Nutty Gal -- Jul 29.07

Friday, July 27, 2007

ROTI JOHN... Who's that?

Read this news article on Sunday.... Very funny lah..
i used to ask myself this question...
Is ROTI JOHN an Indian or Malay dish?
My hubby also cannot tell lor...

Now the people so bor liao until have to do an event and find out the origins of roti john... hahahaa... They said it's Malay dish but originated in India.

SOme readers said Maybe Malays who lived in India invented this dish....Or it could be an indian man who married to malay woman was in india and told the wife when he returned. the wife started selling it... possible meh>>??

There are many version on the origins of ROTI JOHN...One of the story >> the dish was inspired by a homesick tourist named John who, was in search of a sandwich. a helpful hawker sliced up a loaf of French bread, clapped in a mixture of minced mutton and onion and dipped the whole in beaten egg which he fried until crisp. So the locals took to Roti John and it is now a staple at Muslim food stalls. It is more likely, however, that Roti John is an adaptation of Murtabak, an Indian Muslim dish which is the Asian answer to Italian pizza.

Another explanation was that it was named after the British who were stationed in Singapore during the colonial era. Roti means bread in Malay and the British were known as “John” to the Malays,.. this story sounds a little more logic.. but of cos everyone wants to claim credit for creating this dish.. so surely they will not believe in this "Brit-Malay" collarboration thingy..

Then in the makan sutra book, they traced this back to The legendary SHUKOR Stall..There was a man named shukor who ran a stall in taman serasi hawker centre, opposite the botanical gardens. at that time, his caucasian expatriate customers (always addressed as “john! john!” regardless of their actual names) frequently ordered onion omelettes along with french bread. it got so popular that shukor decided to fuse the two together. and that is how roti john came to be, affectionately named after his foreign clientele.

The food centre was demolished some years back. Now, this legendary stall has moved to the Serangoon Gardens Market, which also happens to be just a stone throw away from CHOMP CHOMP...

Whichever the version, We locals love this humble dish....Anyway.. Where to get the BEST ROTI JOHN... ? Some say... shukor’s legendary roti john which i have not try it... so i can't really comment... Musz pay a visit one day!

i think the Best ROTI JOHN i had is @ my house downstair.. HAIG ROAD..... Nice .....Crust of the French toast is crispy... it still taste good even we kept it the next day and heat up for breakfast...Just that i dont really like the muttom minced... personal choice... i think i prefer chicken, or tuna... they should recommend seafood... or teriyaki chicken... that would be nice.. i think i should give a run of their money and open one shop that sell some "alternative" ROTI JOHN... but i surely lose money lah... cannot fight with them... the original stuff is still GOODA...



-- greedy gal -- Jul 27.07

Thursday, July 26, 2007

As Pretty as Princess Di


I happened to chance upon Prince Di's photo on the internet... realised that she has not even aged abt since she had gave birth to 2 princes... i wonder wat is her beauty secret.. Too bad she did not live long enuff to share with us her secrets...

Have not done my facial for a long long time...Love how the way the face feels after a pricey facial mask treatment.. so supple and soft lor... How nice to have that sensation but do it at home, and cheaper...On Budget now... so cannot anyhow spend money...


My Friend from Friendster has been sharing some Interesting homemade facial recipes.. She runs her makeup and beauty services... But i have dry skin lor.. so not very helpful for me leh..




A quick search from Google, managed to compile some other homemade mask recipes which looks good and taste good as well...Perfect!! There's recipes designed for normal skin, dry and oily types... Basically these are food/fruit items that will make u look as good as u eat it..Will be a GOOD treat to do for yourself or even share it with your close ones....


Mmmmm... Musz try this weekend for a better n healthy skin!!!i wonder who will be my guinea pigs... DaDDy or Danna... i better head down to the supermart now...whhheeee.....



Normal Skin Face Masks

*** Fruit & Oatmeal Face Mask ***
1/4 cup cooked peach
2 strawberries
1/4 cup mashed papaya
1 teaspoon honey instant oatmeal to make a paste

Blend all the ingredients together and apply to your face. Leave mixture on for 10 minutes. Rinse off with lukewarm water and pat your face dry with a soft towel.




*** Cucumber Butter Face Mask ***
1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
1 inch slice of cucumber, chopped and mashed

Beat both the above ingredients together and apply to face, leave on for 10 minutes and then wash face with lukewarm water. Pat your face dry with a soft towel.


*** Strawberry Butter Mask ***
1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
1 large strawberry, mashed

Beat both the above ingredients together and apply to face, leave on for 10 minutes and then wash face with lukewarm water. Pat your face dry with a soft towel.


*** Marie Antoinette Mix Face Mask (Legendary French face mask recipe) ***
1 egg Juice of one lemon
4 Tablespoon non-fat dry milk powder
1 Tablespoon witch hazel

Blend together all the ingredients with a whisk, blender, or fork. Apply to your face, neck and chest and allow it to dry (around 15-20 minutes). Use the remaining mask cream as a cleanser to remove the dried mask. After rinsing with lukewarm water, pat your face dry with a soft towel.



*** Homemade Clay Mask (you can get clay from any health food store) ***
Any type earth clay
1 teaspoon honey Milk Floral or Citrus essential oil
Mix two parts of milk to one part of the clay, adding in the honey.

Add more or less milk depending on consistency. Add a few drops of the essential oil for soothing aroma. Mix all this together and put on face. Keep on face for 10-15 minutes or until dry. Rinse off with lukewarm water and pat your face dry with soft towel.


Dry Skin Face Masks


*** Nourishing Face Mask ***
2 ounces ripe avocado
1 ounce orange juice
1 teaspoon honey
1 teaspoon molasses
5 drops chamomile essential oil

Blend all the listed ingredients in a blender or by fork in a bowl. Add some more OJ if the mixture is too thick. Spread this mix over your face and neck and leave on for at least 30 minutes for it to start to dry. It doesn’t have to completely dry to be effective. Use warm water to rinse off the mask with a rough cloth to exfoliate while removing. This mask will keep for a few days if refrigerated.


*** Butter Face Mask ***
1 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
1 egg yolk

Beat both the above ingredients together and apply to face, leave on for 10 minutes and then wash face with lukewarm water. Pat your face dry with a soft towel.



*** Honey and Oatmeal Face Mask ***
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 egg yolk
1 teaspoon honey instant oatmeal enough to make a paste

Mix all the above ingredients together with enough of the instant oatmeal to make a good paste consistency. Smooth this blend all over your face and neck. Leave on the face for 10-15 minutes and then rinse off with lukewarm water. Pat dry with a soft towel.


*** Avocado & Cucumber Face Mask ***

1 cup cucumber, peeled and chopped
1 cup avocado 3 tablespoons finely powdered oats
3 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon honey 8-9 tablespoons clay (you can get this from most any health food stores)
2-3 drops of essential oils (citrus or floral)


In a blender, mix cucumber, avocado, water and lemon juice until smooth. Then add rest of ingredients listed in Step one and blend slightly. Pour this into a bowl and whisk in the clay and the essential oils. Apply to clean dry face and neck and leave on for about 30 minutes. Rinse off afterwards with lukewarm water and then pat dry with a soft towel. Apply toner and good moisturizer. It will keep well in the refrigerator for up to a week.


Oily Skin Face Masks

*** Apple Oatmeal Face Mask ***
1/2 apple, cooked soft and mashed
1 Tablespoon honey instant oatmeal to make a paste

Combine all the above ingredients and apply to face, leave on for 10 minutes and then wash face with lukewarm water. Pat your face dry with a soft towel.



*** Strawberry Lemon Face Mask ***
1 teaspoon lemon juice
2 egg whites
2 teaspoon honey
1 cup strawberries

Blend all the above ingredients and apply to face, leave on for 10 minutes and then wash face with lukewarm water. Pat your face dry with a soft towel.
**This makes two masks so you can cut it in half or invite a friend over.



*** Strawberry Butter Mask ***
1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
1 large strawberry, mashed

Beat both the above ingredients together and apply to face, leave on for 10 minutes and then wash face with lukewarm water. Pat your face dry with a soft towel.


*** Lemon Butter Mask ***
1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
1 teaspoon lemon juice

Beat both the above ingredients together and apply to face, leave on for 10 minutes and then wash face with lukewarm water. Pat your face dry with a soft towel.



*** Egg White Mask ***
1 egg white
6 drops witch hazel
6 drops lemon juice

Whisk in a bowl the egg white until stiff peaks form, add the rest of ingredients listed above. Apply to the face and avoid your eyes. Leave on for 10 minutes, or let dry, and rinse off with lukewarm water. Pat your face dry with a soft towel.


How the ingredients help
Oatmeal will soothe and calm the skin while also absorbing oil and the fruit acids in the fruit ingredients will exfoliate dry skin cells and leave you with a better hydrated glow. Honey contains anti-microbial properties to cleanse and refine your face. Butter is an excellent source of vitamin A, so it makes a great mask for dry or damaged (i.e. sunburned) skin. Any of these ingredients can help your desert air face with extra nutrients and hydration.



If you are having some problematic skin now.. can try these:



***Oatmeal Scrub ...For oily, irritated, orskin that has breakout with a few pimples ***
2 Tablespoons regular oatmeal (instant is fine)
4 Tablespoons plain yogurt
1 Tablespoon lemon juice (Fresh or bottled)
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 Tablespoon chopped parsley

In a bowl, mix all the ingredients until a paste is formed. Massage it onto cleansed skin and leave on 5-10 minutes. Rinse with warm water...




***Anti-ageing, Anti-wrinkle mask...***
Beat the yolk of one egg
Add 2 tablespoons of milk.

Apply to skin that has just been washed and leave it on for 5 minutes. Rinse with warm water and apply a moisturizer...


***Fruity mask... The mask itself is for deep cleansing and unclogging the pores...***
- 6 or 8 ounces of plain yogurt...
- 1 carrot1/2 peach (fresh, not canned)
- 1/2 cucumber, peeled

Chop the carrot, peach, and cucumber into small pieces...Put it in a food processor (or your handy little chopper).Mix it until it becomes a paste. If it turns runny, don't sweat it, it's still fine...Apply the mask to your face and forehead and leave it onfor 10-15 minutes. Rinse well with water.



The benefits of the ingredients...
Carrots...A natural anti-inflammatory which is good if you have breakouts...Carrots have a soothing property in them...Cucumbers...A softening agent for skin...Refreshes and moisturizes skin...Peaches...Emollient properties Also soothes inflamed skin...




-- DIY gal -- Jul 26.07

Tuesday, July 24, 2007

FOOOOD Craving...

For a Change we had Mcdonalds for Lunch.. actually it was Jacko who suggested...

never knew that he would have such craving for fast food....haahhhaaa...
We dropped by Esso for some petrol.... funny thing that DaDDy came back with a comb of banana from the mart...

He said he saw the bananas nice and yellow... feel like eating it...Aiyor...What's wrong with the boys today lah...


DaDDy dropped me @ One Marina Boulevard for my interview appt @ 3pm... Interview was pretty straightforward and and fast.. all done within an hour.. so i dropped by the new market street carpark mall for some tea... Craving kicks in.. Masala Tea... I found a cozy table to relax one corner and get my fix...Mr Tea the shop name.. sells all sort of tea "Cuisine"...including specialty tea.. teacinno, etc... Relatively small and simple set up.. it looked like a fast food/snack corner except that they do not have any nibbles on sale but they do have a food showcase which is redudant... anyway... they kinda make their tea inside the shop which they had it codorned off... weird right...??

The sitting area is in the main foyer where the tables and chairs looked like they bought it from Giant.. i guess they did not plan to have so many sitting arrangement... Lots of office guys and Mamah fellows sat there to talk cock for at least half an hour before getting back to work... well, it is certainly cheaper to skive this way than buying that coffee @ Starbucks or Coffee Club which will cost abt $5 and up...Prices are ok for the normal tea or masala teas..between $0.70-0.90.. but with ice u need to add $0.30 which is quite expensive... not sure how much are those special teas they are selling...

After waiting for abt 1 hr (not bad considering i spent only $0.90 on the Masala tea)... decided to jalan jalan @ Marina Square to kill more time... Sale is still on in most of the boutique even though the GSS frenzy has kinda die down abit... But i think they are trying to clear stocks for the previous season as well.. not much of the shoppers around, except some students who like to runda here and there and spending parents' pocket money...

Had a hard time holding myself back during window shopping, wanted to get that nice skirt and the blue blouse but i have to curb spending more now cos have not found job leh... Anyone want to hire me? i can do almost everything except be your girlfriend or your wife or your mum.... ok... i cannot be a swimming instructor, a lion trainer, a fried kuek tiao hawker, a pilot... etc...


Found this milk packet in the car after DaDDy pick me up on the way home. Made in Australia...Not for human... it's for Jacko's 3 babies... forgot that these dogs are in their infant stage.. at least 2-3 years old already...

i didn't know there's actually milk for pets... they should be lactose FREE cos i remembered feeding my dog with the Marigold Low-fat milk and he had diarhorrea big time... These pet milk are Quite expensive though.. Jacko said about $11 for 3 packet... which is averagely $3.70+.... With that price I can get 2 packet of Low fat Hi-cal milk for myself... And i counted.. he bought abt 9 packs of it...assuming that his 3 darlings drink like 500ml per day... 2 days finish 1 pack... 9 packs can only last him abt 18 days....i think i will go broke liao just on buying milk for the dogs... if i drink like these Dogs... i think i will be Calcium toxicated... haaaahhaaa...



-- tired gal -- Jul 24.07

Sunday, July 1, 2007

SMOKE BAN

ToDay is an important day for smokers to remember...


SMOKING BAN in Singapore... !!..Hahaha.. i think my DaDDy will remember this better than our wedding anniversary...cos no more smoking in entertainment nightspots.. For some of the clubs like MOS and St James, they have special smoking rooms for their patrons to puff all they want while still enjoying the music.. think "Chakravarthy" did not arrange for that corner... Poor DaDDy.. had to take a puff outdoor...

Actually DO YOU KNOW that England also initated a same smoke Ban on 1st July 2007 too...? They call it SMOKE FREE ENGLAND...i think they ban smoking in public indoor places and If you're caught smoking in a banned area you could be fined £50 - up to £200 if it goes to court.


I went to the NEA website and checked out abt the smoking ban in Singapore..Wah!! I did not know so many places are banned from smoking... the list was really long man...Sian liao.. i think they might as well make Singapore a smoke-FREE country better...... Sometimes the government so contradicting lor.. if they want people to quit smoking, then just banned the cigarettes and finish lah... end of story... no need to spend so much money on educating people the danger of smoking lah.. then now come and ban places for smoking.. Increase Cigarette prices lah.. all waste time and waste money... wat for? They can ban chewing gum, then should be no problem banning cigarettes rite?

By the way, DO YOU KNOW THEY INCREASE THE CIGARETTES PRICE TO $11.60 per PACK??? Wah... i remember 3-5 years ago is only $8 per pack.. now increased at least 40% liao... they really know how to jerk up the prices... why? just because they increase GST to 7%?? they really know when to make money out of it...

BUT again the government will not ban cigarette lah.... cos tabacco is one of the heavily tax items which the government can earn as income.. that's how Singapore make money wat.. tax this and tax that....

Then again, the smokers will still buy right... i heard the news that one of them even said he will not quit untill they increase the price to $20 per pack.. Wah!! this die-hard fan man...I think even the person one day die also want to bring the cigarettes to the grave... if it was me huh... i rather save the money and use it on parking coupons... at least every $0.50 i can park half an hour.. haiz...


So where are the areas where smoking is disallowed?

Practically everywhere lah!! All indoor places in all areas of amusement and cinema entertainments... sport and fitness arena, airconditioned halls/ ballrooms, airconditioned offices and factories... Any air-conditioned shopping mall or complex, including any shop, atrium, corridor, lobby, stairwell or other area within the shopping mall or complex.. HUH!! this one.. i didn't know leh!!! Like that, the poor workers can't even get their smoking break lor...

Of cos Healthcare establishments like clinics and hospitals cannot smoke lah.. they want people to quit leh.. so obviously cannot puff your way.. But if doctors are also smokers.. how to promote the message that smoking is bad for health???!! ....As for the High learning institutes like the Public library or schools, it is a good idea cos nowadays the kids starts this bad habits as young as 13 years old... making it hard of them to learn from friends is a good thing...

So funny leh, they even stated that you cannot smoke in the Supreme Court, the Subordinate Courts and Small Claims Tribunals.... who will do that lah.. that place so heavily guarded with policemens and law enforcer.. unless ur grandfather is LKY, then mayb u can get exemptions... hahah....

I hate those commuters who wait for buses in the bus shelter and bus interchange and take the chance to smoke.. very inconsiderate cos there's young kids and older folks waiting also.. it's bad to blow smoke into their faces and let them inhale second hand smoke... Aaaa.. Underground pedestrian walkway cannot meh?? like the ones near East coast and all?

Thank god... the hawker centres and coffee shops have implemented the smoke FREE rule.. at least they also give chances lah.. only can smoke at designated outdoor refreshment area which is 20% of the total floor area of that foodshop...but hor... it looked so weird sitting inside the yellow box lor... like as though i have a disease and i have to be "quarantine" lor.. Haiz...


Aiyah... Singaporeans are generally very obedient.. getting used to it is a matter of time...Some nightspots can afford to have designated smoking rooms which can take up no more than 10 percent of the indoor space, the smaller ones then cannot lah.... additional money to create the corner and no money making wat.. I think to make it viable, maybe they should just charge an "entry fee" lor... hahahha... like $0.50 per entry or $3 all night long pass... then they can smoke all they want... No bad the idea hor!!

I think some club owners think that their business will drop once this non-smoking rule takes effect.. they so silly lah.. if ur music is good, people will come wat.. some more, most gals like non-smoking areas wat... so more gals will come to the clubs and guys will surely follow... So many Ah-de-jar chicks patronising the clubs, which guys don't want to go?

I heard if you don't comply, you can be could be fined a maximum of $1,000 or face up to six months' jail or both. I wonder they only fine the smokers but how abt the clubs owners? mmmm... They also say that there will be officers from NEA to inspect the clubs.. so better don't play play..

In case you still don't know where you can't smoke... u can check out the website
http://app.nea.gov.sg/cms/htdocs/category_sub.asp?cid=248


If you have family members who need help to quit smoking, i sugguest u print out the "NO SMOKING" posters or draw a yellow box at home.... maybe it's the 1st step to encourage smokers to quit smoking..

i think i should start drawing my yellow box in the room for my DaDDy... 10% of the surface area.. mmmmm....which is abt wat? 2 marble tiles?



-- smoke free gal -- jul.01.07